North Carolina Mortgage Broker Bond

    Regulation first went into effect on January 1, 1989 for mortgage brokers in the state. This regulation was fairly unrestrictive, particularly when compared to other states, but all of this changed with the Mortgage Lending Act of 2002. This fairly restrictive policy is is overseen by the North Carolina Office of the Commissioner of Banks.
    Applicants (or applicants control persons) are required three years of experience in the mortgage lending industry. The person who meets this qualification must be designated the managing principal. The managing principal must obtain a loan officers license in order to have customer contact, or if they intend to manage more then one office. Sole proprietors and individuals applying for a mortgage broker license are required to obtain a loan officers license.
    Loan officers are required to by at least 18 years of age, complete an educational course, and pass an examination.
How to get bonded
  • Apply Online
    Fill out our online application form.
  • Get Approved Instantly
    You will be sent your quote in minutes.
  • Pay and ship your bond
    We offer secure payment options.
Start Your Application
It's FREE. No Obligations. Approval in Minutes.

North Carolina Mortgage Bond Markets

Bad Credit Mortgage Broker Bonds

Applicants with a low credit score, or public records (Bankruptcy, Liens, Collection, or Civil Judgments) will find a difficult time getting bonded. Bryant Surety Bonds, inc offers a Bad Credit Surety Bond Program that is specially tailored to your needs and can get you approved. This program is available for high risk mortgage brokers.

North Carolina Licensure Requirements*

Applicant Requirements:

  • Age: No Requirement
  • State Residency: No Requirement
  • Experience: Applicant or 1 managing principle must have 3 years experience in mortgage lending, or competency requirements that the commissioner may impose.
  • Education: No Requirement
  • Continuing Education: No Requirement
  • Examination: No Requirement
  • Fitness For Licensure: Applicant must display financial responsibility, business history, character, and general fitness.
  • Net Worth: No Requirement
  • Surety Bond: $50,000
  • Background Check: A Federal and State criminal history background check, as well as submitting fingerprints.
  • Managing Principal: Individual meeting the experience requirement must be named managing principle. This person must have a loan officers license if they are to have contact with customers or to be able to manage a second location (branch).

State Licensing Fees:

  • Initial Application: $1,250 application fee
  • Branch Application: $125 application fee
  • Renewal Application: $625 renewal fee, $125 branch renewal fee.

Employee Requirements:

  • Age: 18 years of age or older.
  • State Residency: No Requirement
  • Experience: Applicant may substitute experience requirement for education/examination.
  • Education: With in 3 years prior to applying, applicant must complete the mortgage lending fundamental course that is approved by the commissioner. This Course is at least 8 hours of classroom learning.
  • Continuing Education: Not to surpass 8 hours annually.
  • Examination: Applicant must pass an examination.
  • Fitness For Licensure: Applicant must demonstrate credit history and business history
  • Net Worth: No Requirement
  • Surety Bond: No Requirement
  • Background Check: Applicant must submit fingerprints as well as consent to a background check
  • Exemptions: No Any Employee whose responsibilities are limited to clerical and administrative tasks and do not solicit borrowers, accept application, or negotiate terms is exempt.
  • Licensing Fee: $67.50 license fee
  • Renewal Fee: $67.50 renewal fee

Branch Offices:

  • In State Requirements: A Licensee must maintain a branch office in the state.
  • Licensure Requirements: Each branch must be separately licensed.
  • Branch Manager: Each branch must have a manager who is licensed as a loan officer and has at least 3 years experience.

Exemptions:

  • Entities: Real estate agents, insurance companies, and regulated financial institutions.
  • Safe Harbor: None

*Information for state licensing is provided as a guide, always verify with the state that the information is correct.

How to apply:

1.) Visit the commercial application page.
2.) Complete our online application.