Pennsylvania Mortgage Broker Bond

    Regulation of mortgage brokers went into effect 180 days after the Mortgage Bankers and Brokers and consumer Equity Protection Act was passed on December 22, 1989. Up dates in the law in 1998 and again in 2002 made took this fairly unregulated state to a medium level of restrictiveness.
    An applicant must have a physical location in the state of Pa, demonstrate fitness, and maintain a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 if the applicant intends on collecting advance fees. Each location must have one Mortgage Professional. The Mortgage Professional is defined as: 1) A manager of a licensed office that is maintained by a licensee. 2) An owner, officer, or W-2 employee who has the authority to underwrite or approve loans. 3) An owner, officer, or W-2 employee who as part of their official duties directly contacts borrowers to present, negotiate, or advise loan terms. The Mortgage Professional must participate in 6 hours of continuing education yearly.
How to get bonded
  • Apply Online
    Fill out our online application form.
  • Get Approved Instantly
    You will be sent your quote in minutes.
  • Pay and ship your bond
    We offer secure payment options.
Start Your Application
It's FREE. No Obligations. Approval in Minutes.

Pennsylvania Mortgage Bond Markets

Bad Credit Mortgage Broker Bonds

Applicants with a low credit score, or public records (Bankruptcy, Liens, Collection, or Civil Judgments) will find a difficult time getting bonded. Bryant Surety Bonds, inc offers a Bad Credit Surety Bond Program that is specially tailored to your needs and can get you approved. This program is available for high risk mortgage brokers.

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements*

Applicant Requirements:

  • Age: No Requirement
  • State Residency: No Requirement
  • Experience: No Requirement
  • Education: No Requirement
  • Continuing Education: One Mortgage Professional at each location must complete 6 credit hours of continuing education.
  • Examination: No Requirement
  • Fitness For Licensure: The applicant must show an ethical reputation and good character.
  • Net Worth: No Requirement
  • Surety Bond: $100,000 if the applicant accepts advance fees.
  • Background Check: Each owner, partner, officer, president, VP, Secretary and treasurer, must submit fingerprints and consent to a criminal background check.
  • Managing Principal: Each licensee must maintain one Mortgage Profession at each licensed office.

State Licensing Fees:

  • Initial Application: $500 Licensing Fee
  • Branch Application: $50 Branch License Fee
  • Renewal Application: $200 Renewal Fee, $25 Branch Renewal Fee

Employee Requirements:

  • Age: No Requirement
  • State Residency: No Requirement
  • Experience: No Requirement
  • Education: No Requirement
  • Continuing Education: No Requirement
  • Examination: No Requirement
  • Fitness For Licensure: No Requirement
  • Net Worth: No Requirement
  • Surety Bond: No Requirement
  • Background Check: No Requirement
  • Exemptions: Employees are not required to register or obtain a license. Non-employees (1099 form) must obtain their own mortgage broker license.
  • Licensing Fee: No Requirement
  • Renewal Fee: No Requirement

Branch Offices:

  • In State Requirements: A in state office must be maintained
  • Licensure Requirements: Unknown (though a licensing fee must be paid)
  • Branch Manager: Each licensed office must maintain one Mortgage Professional

Exemptions:

  • Entities: Regulated financial institutions, Lawyers, Insurance companies, Consumer loan companies, Real estate agents.
  • Safe Harbor: A person who originates or negotiates less then 3 mortgage loans a calendar year, unless this person is deemed to engage in first mortgage loan business is exempt.

*Information for state licensing is provided as a guide, always verify with the state that the information is correct.

How to apply:

1.) Visit the commercial application page.
2.) Complete our online application.