Overview of Bonding Requirements for Florida Public Adjusters
Everyone who wants to get licensed as a public adjuster in Florida must meet a number of licensing criteria, including posting a public adjuster bond.
A type of surety bond, the public adjuster bond is required to provide protection to the Department of Financial Services in cases it sustains losses due to unlawful actions by the public adjuster. If the adjuster violates the bond agreement, the Department can receive quick recourse, because the surety company will provide compensation even if the public adjuster can’t.
To stay out of claims, public adjusters are required to run their business in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 626 (section 626.851 through 626.878) of the Florida Statutes, and “abide by all rules and regulations of the Department of Financial Services as promulgated by the Chief Financial Officer.”
Florida Public Adjuster Bond Cost
To calculate your bond cost, you first need to know the total bond amount, i.e. the bond’s penal sum. In the case of public adjuster bonds in Florida, that amount is $50,000, which is the maximum coverage the bond offers to claimants.
To calculate your cost– or premium– you can use the calculator on the right to get an estimate. Additional factors can play an important role, so you can only use it as a rough guideline.
Alternatively, consult the table below for a breakdown of expected costs based on your credit score bracket.
|Bond Type||Surety Bond Amount||Above 700||Between 650-699||Between 600-649||Below 599|
|Florida Public Adjuster Bond||$50,000||$375-$750||$500-$1,250||$1,250-$2,500||$2,500-$5,000|
If you’re not happy with your credit score, be sure to check out surety bond cost guide which contains a wealth of information on how you can reduce your premium.
Getting Bonded with Bad Credit
We run a Bad Credit Program, thanks to which you can apply for and get your Florida public adjuster bond successfully.
Applicants with a score of 650 or below pay a higher premium because their personal credit score is used as a way to measure the risk associated with underwriting the bond. The higher the risk, the higher the premium. However, even with bad credit, your annual premium will rarely exceed 10%.
Our surety experts have in-depth knowledge on the factors that can help reduce your premium, so they will work closely with you and provide personalized tips when you start the application process.
Start Your Bond Application Today!
Ready to apply for your bond? Simply fill out our simple one-page online application, and you will have done most of the work required.
You’ll receive your free bond quote and help from our agents in completing the rest of the requirements. We have among the fastest turnarounds in the country so we can issue most bonds within 24 hours.
For any questions or assistance you need with your application, contact us at (866)-450-3412!
How to Get a Florida Public Adjuster License
To become a licensed public adjuster in the state of Florida, you must meet all licensing requirements. These include:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a U.S. citizen or a legal alien with a work permit
- Be of good conduct
- Pass a written examination
- Receive designation as an Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA), a Certified Adjuster (CA), or a Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA)
- Complete “a minimum 100 hours of employment per month for 12 months of employment under the supervision of a licensed and appointed all-lines public adjuster”
Note: Use this guide as reference only as licensing requirements are often subject to change. Contact the Florida Department of Financial Services prior to starting your application for the most up-to-date information.