Apply OnlineFill out our online application form.
Get Approved InstantlyYou will be sent your quote in minutes.
Pay and ship your bondWe offer secure payment options.
How much does a Colorado bonded title cost?
The cost of bonding a title in Colorado is equal to a fraction of the full amount of the bond you are required to obtain. The Colorado title bond amount must, by state law, be equal to twice the appraised value of the vehicle you want to get a Colorado bonded title for.
To get an appraisal of the value of your car, refer to price guide books (for vehicles that are not older than 7 years), computerized valuation services, or a licensed Colorado motor vehicle dealer.
Once your vehicle is appraised and the amount of your bond is determined, you’re ready to obtain your bond through a surety bond agency. When you apply with an agency, they provide you with a quote issued by the surety bond company which will back your bond. Bond quotes are established by companies based on applicants’ financials, including their credit score, their financial statements, assets and other factors. Bond companies consider personal credit score to be the most important of these.
So, for example, if you are offered a 2% quote on your $8,000 bond, you will need to pay a $160 premium.
Applicants who have a credit score of 700 FICO or above– a high credit score– can typically expect to get a 1%-3% quote on their bond.
Options for applicants with bad credit
We operate a Bad Credit Program that enables applicants to obtain a Colorado title bond even if they don’t have a high credit score.
Our special bonding program is open to applicants with low credit scores, as well as to those that don’t have a credit score at all. The only difference between bonds for applicants with higher scores and bonds under this program are the slightly higher rates due to the greater risk involved. Applicants with bad credit can expect to receive a rate between 3% and 10% of their surety bond amount.
What’s the purpose of Colorado title bond?
Title bonds are agreements between three sides: the bonded title applicant, the Colorado Department of Revenue, and the bond company which backs the bond. This bond guarantees compensation to claimants up to its full amount if it turns out that the title was issued for a stolen vehicle, or in violation of other conditions specified in the bond agreement. When a claim is made, the bond company may compensate claimants, while the bonded title holder must compensate the surety bond company for its backing in full.
See below for possible reasons for a claim against a Colorado title bond.
Colorado bonded title holders
A claim can be filed against a Colorado lost title bond in cases when:
- Prior owners, lien holders or subsequent purchasers of a vehicle with a bonded title face expenses, losses or damages (including attorney fees) in relation to the vehicle.
- There is a defect or undisclosed security upon the right, title, and interest of the applicant in and to the vehicle.
How to get a bonded title in Colorado?
To obtain your Colorado bonded title you will need to go through the following steps:
Get a VIN inspection. Contact your local state patrol office to be directed to the nearest certified inspector in your area. Have them complete the DR2704 VIN inspection form. The inspection will cost you $20.
Submit a Motor Vehicle Record Search Request and request a Colorado Title Record Search at your local DMV. If a prior title holder is found via the record search, you must contact them and see if you can get the title of your vehicle through them.
If the search finds there are active liens on your motor vehicle you will be required to release the lien before you can continue with the bonded title application.
Determine the value of your vehicle by referring to price guidebooks (for vehicles that are not older than 7 years), computerized valuation services, or a licensed Colorado motor vehicle dealer.
Based on the value of your vehicle, you must obtain a title bond which is twice the amount of the appraised value. Contact a surety bond agency to obtain a bond in the necessary amount. Once you have obtained your bond, you must also complete the Bond Statement Guide & In Lieu of Bond Affidavit (form DR 2394).
- Once you have completed all of the above steps, you can submit your papers to your local DMV and apply for your title. Once your papers are processed and approved you’ll receive your Colorado bonded title.
Contact the Colorado Department of Revenue if you need more information regarding the Colorado bonded title process.
If you want to know more about the bonding process and how to obtain your title bond, call us at (866)-450-3412 to speak to our bond professionals. We’ll be happy to provide you with advice and guidance.