How to Get a New Hampshire Dealer License
Individuals in New Hampshire can sell up to 5 vehicles per year that are titled in their name. To sell more than that, you need to apply for a New Hampshire dealer license from the state Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The DMV issues several different types of dealer licenses, depending on the type of vehicles you wish to sell, and whether you wish to sell them to the public or other dealers. Licensing requirements for dealers include securing an established place of business, obtaining a New Hampshire auto dealer bond, passing a criminal background check, and more.
For a detailed overview of how to get your New Hampshire car dealer license, see the sections below!
1. Choose Your New Hampshire Dealer License Type
Three main types of dealer licenses are issued and regulated by the DMV:
- Retail dealer license
- Wholesale dealer license
- Motorcycle dealer license
In addition to these, the DMV also issues licenses for auto recyclers, repairers, transporters, and utility dealers. This guide will detail the licensing requirements for the dealer license types listed above.
2. Complete an Initial Business Registration
Prior to applying for a license from the DMV, you need to register your business with the New Hampshire Secretary of State (SoS). To easily register, use the NH QuickStart platform.
On top of your registration with the SoS you may need to register for a tax permit with the state Department of Revenue in order to pay business profits tax later on.
Moreover, you may find you also require a local permit from your city or town clerk’s office. Contact the office to inquire about the need for an additional permit.
3. Find an Appropriate Dealership Location
All types of New Hampshire dealers must have a permanently established place of business that is approved by local & state authorities, and in compliance with applicable zoning ordinances.
All dealers must comply with the following requirements for their dealership location:
- Own or lease the dealership location
- Regular business hours of at least 37½ hours per week between 6 AM and 9 PM
- A sign with at least 10-inch letters which is visible from a public road
- Receive legal mail at the dealership location, and store and maintain records pertaining to the business
In addition, any retail vehicle and motorcycle dealers must also have:
- At least 750 square feet
- Permanent heating systems and electrical outlets that are in accordance with state requirements
- A service facility or enter into a service agreement with a local approved New Hampshire Inspection Station
4. Pass a Criminal Background Check
All New Hampshire dealer license applicants, and all owners in any dealership, must pass a criminal background check at the state Criminal Records Unit.
The fee for getting a criminal history check is $25 per person.
5. Get a New Hampshire Auto Dealer Bond
Regardless of the type of dealer license, you are applying for, you will need to get a $25,000 New Hampshire auto dealer bond.
The bond guarantees your compliance with all the provisions of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated (RSAs).
6. Complete and Submit Your New Hampshire Dealer License Application
If you’ve completed all of the above requirements, you can proceed with filling out your NH Car Dealer License Application Form.
Prior to submitting the form, attach the following:
- Proof of compliance with zoning ordinances and approval by city/county authorities
- Copy of lease agreement or proof of ownership
- Copy of service agreement (if applicable)
- Criminal record
- Proof of having obtained an auto dealer bond
Send your application packet to the DMV at the following address and include a $125 license fee:
Department of Safety
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
You may be asked to pay further fees upon being approved for a license.
7. Pass a Dealership Inspection and a Review Class of State Laws
As a final stage of in dealer license application process, your dealership must pass an inspection by the New Hampshire State Police. If your dealership is in compliance with all requirements, you will be issued and mailed your license.
If you are approved to get licensed, but prior to having any plates issued, you will also need to pass a review class of state laws and rules.
8. License Renewal
New Hampshire dealer licenses expire yearly on March 31. You must renew your license prior to the expiration date to remain registered as a dealer in the state.
If you have any questions about the licensing or renewal process, contact the Dealer and Inspection Desk at (603) 227-4120 or at [email protected].