Overview of Louisiana Public Adjuster Bond Requirements
To apply for a public adjuster license in Louisiana, you will need to post a $50,000 public adjuster bond to the Department of Insurance.
What is the purpose of this bond?
This bond guarantees every licensed public adjuster's compliance with the sections of the Louisiana Revised Statutes that apply to them, their activities and responsibilities.
If a public adjuster violates the law and causes damage to any person they provide services for, that person may bring an action against the adjuster's bond to seek financial compensation.
The surety that backs the bond must then investigate the claim and determine whether and what amount of compensation to extend. Such compensation can even be as high as the full penal sum of the bond.
To learn more about how bonds work, and why you need to get bonded, see our detailed ‘What is a surety bond' guide!
See the sections below for more information about the cost of this bond, what may give rise to a claim against it, and how you can apply to get bonded!
If you want to know more about the bonding requirements for public adjusters in Louisiana, call us at (866)-450-3412!
What Is The Cost of The Louisiana Public Adjuster Bond?
Your surety bond premium, i.e. the cost of your bond, is equal to a fraction of the full penal sum of your bond. The exact cost of your bond is based on the following factors.
Factors that determine your bond premium
When determining your rate, sureties primarily review your personal credit score.
Your credit score is considered a stable and reliable indicator of the likelihood a claim may be filed against your bond. The higher your score, the lower the likelihood, and the cheaper it is for you to get bonded.
Those applicants with a very high credit score can expect to get bonded at a rate between .75% and 1.5% of the total bond amount. Applicants with moderate scores are bonded at slightly higher rates, somewhere between 1.5% and 5%. The third category of bond rates is for those applicants with a low or “bad" credit score. These applicants are typically offered a rate between 5% and 15% of their bond's amount.
In addition to your credit score, your surety will likely also request to review your:
- Personal and business financial statements
- Fixed and liquid assets
- Work experience and record
Want to know approximately how much your bond will cost? See the table below for an estimate!
|Louisiana Public Adjuster Bond Cost Based on Credit Score|
|Above 700||650-699||600-649||Below 599|
|Louisiana public adjuster||$50,000||$375-$750||$500-$1,250||$1,250-$2,500||$2,500-$3,750|
How Do Bond Claims Occur?
According to the Louisiana Revised Statutes (LRS) Title 22:1701, applicants for a public adjuster license in the state must post a $50,000 bond as evidence of financial responsibility.
The bond is intended to serve as a guarantee that public adjusters will comply with the provisions of the LRS. If a public adjuster violates these provisions and causes damages to any person as a result “erroneous acts, failure to act, conviction of fraud, or conviction of unfair practices", a claim can be filed against their bond.
When a claim is filed against an adjuster's bond, the surety must investigate the matter to determine the appropriate amount of compensation to extend. Once the surety compensates a claimant, this ends the claims process for them.
Yet, the bonded public adjuster must still compensate the surety for its backing of the bond, because it is the adjuster who is liable for the claim. To avoid dealing with claims, the safest course of action is to comply with the requirements of your bond agreement and the provisions of the LRS!
How Can I Get Bonded?
To get started with your bond application, click on the banner below and complete the form. You will then receive a free and exact quote on your bond, along with further details about finalizing the process.
If you have any further questions about getting a Louisiana public adjuster bond, call us at (866)-450-3412 anytime!